• adaptogens
  • Boots
  • buyer's guide
  • fulvic acid
  • Holland and Barrett
  • shilajit
  • UK supplements
  • Shilajit at Holland & Barrett and Boots UK: What They Actually Stock (and What the Prices Look Like in 2026)

    Sep 19, 202614 min read
    A man in his 40s in a soft grey jumper holds a mug of tea in a warm British kitchen, illustrating a UK buyer's guide to shilajit at Holland & Barrett and Boots.

    The short answer is yes, both Holland & Barrett and Boots stock shilajit products in the UK, but the range is fragmented, fulvic acid percentages are often unstated, and once you work out price per day the chemist shelves sit noticeably above dedicated UK supplement specialists. Both chains list a mix of own-brand and third-party SKUs across capsules and resin, and both have periods where the specific listings sit as temporarily unavailable online.

    Shilajit sits in an unusual retail position in the UK. Google's Interest in shilajit quadrupled between 2022 and 2024 as testosterone, adaptogen and longevity searches converged on a single ingredient, and the chemists were slow to catch up. Both chains have since bolted shilajit listings onto their vitamin ranges without redesigning the underlying formulary, which is why the same shelf can hold a 1000mg own-brand capsule, a third-party resin jar at four times the price per day, and a stack blend with no fulvic acid percentage on the label.

    This guide walks through exactly what Holland & Barrett and Boots stock in 2026, why fulvic acid percentage is the single most under-reported number on a shilajit label, and how the price per day works out once you multiply the pack size up to a maintenance year. If you already know shilajit and just need a UK source, our own Shilajit Complex 90-capsule bottle lands at £0.38 per day at the recommended two-per-day serving.

    Key Takeaway

    Both chemists sell shilajit, but neither list matches a dedicated UK specialist on fulvic acid transparency or price per day. Holland & Barrett stocks an own-brand 1000mg 90-capsule at £31.99 (regularly discounted) plus a 30g Himalayan resin at 75% fulvic acid. Boots carries WeightWorld, Osavi, New Leaf and its own Wellthy label across capsules and resin, with prices ranging from around £15 to £60 depending on format. Chemist price per day sits between £0.50 and £2, against roughly £0.38 for a UK specialist complex.

    Supplements Wise Shilajit Complex 90 capsule bottle

    Top pickMade in the UK · GMP certified

    Shilajit Complex 90 Capsules

    90 capsules · 45-day supply at 2/day

    • Shilajit standardised to 60% fulvic acid (200mg extract, equivalent to 2,000mg raw)
    • Stacked with KSM-66 Ashwagandha, Rhodiola Rosea, Zinc, Vitamin D3, B6
    • Black pepper piperine for absorption, capsule format (no resin mess)
    £16.95 £0.38 per day
    Add to Cart

    Vegetarian · 30-day returns · Free UK shipping

    What Holland & Barrett Stocks in 2026

    Holland & Barrett's shilajit range on hollandandbarrett.com in 2026 is three products deep:

    • Holland & Barrett Shilajit 1000mg, 90 capsules, own-brand, listed at £31.99, regularly discounted to around £16.00 during 50% promotions. This is the range's most trafficked SKU (4.4 stars from 124 reviews) and the one that turns up first in the retailer's on-site search.
    • Himalayan Shilajit Resin 30g, a third-party jar listed at 75% fulvic acid, positioned around "testosterone and male vitality" claims. The retailer's product page states fulvic acid percentage on the label, which is more disclosure than most chemist SKUs offer.
    • Absolute Shilajit Capsules, 60 capsules, a smaller-pack third-party option; pricing and availability fluctuate.

    The chain does not stock a shilajit-plus-adaptogen complex, does not carry a resin above the 30g pack size, and does not list a full certificate of analysis on any SKU. Availability is the more common friction point: reviewers regularly report the own-brand 90-capsule bottle as "temporarily unavailable" through 2026, especially outside of promotion windows.

    Why the 50% promotion is worth reading twice

    The Holland & Barrett own-brand SKU spends most of the year cycling between £31.99 full price and a 50% promotional £16.00. At £16.00 the 90-capsule pack matches the SW Shilajit Complex on shelf price, but only for as long as the promotion runs, and it does not include the stacked ashwagandha, rhodiola or micronutrient portion of a complex. A shilajit-only capsule at a promotional price is not the same product category as an adaptogenic complex, even when the pack cost aligns for a fortnight.

    What Boots Stocks in 2026

    Boots's shilajit shelves are broader than Holland & Barrett's but rely on third-party brands rather than an own-brand line. The core listings in 2026 are:

    • WeightWorld Pure Himalayan Shilajit 20,000mg, 180 capsules, a marketing-number capsule (the 20,000mg refers to raw-herb equivalent across a serving, not per-capsule content); usually the cheapest capsule per unit on the Boots shelf.
    • WeightWorld Purified Shilajit Resin 50g, listed around £28.99 on WeightWorld's own site, with a Boots-shelf uplift on the retail listing.
    • Osavi Himalayan Shilajit 25g, a resin format sold in a smaller pack, from a Polish supplement-brand imported into the UK chemist channel.
    • Pure Himalayan Shilajit Resin 30g, a mineral-rich resin claim, no independent lab certificate publicly linked from the product page.
    • New Leaf Shilajit Complex, 120 capsules, the only true "complex" on the Boots shelf, blending shilajit with Ashwagandha and Lion's Mane. Priced above the WeightWorld capsule at pack level.
    • Wellthy by Boots Shilajit 60 capsules, a Boots-branded own-line entry, positioned at the mid-market end of the range.

    The trade-off with Boots is that stock rotates hard. Reviewers and price-tracker sites report SKUs dropping off online between shelf refreshes, with recommendations to "find in store" prompting the reader to a nearby chemist branch rather than an add-to-basket button. That is the single largest friction point for a UK shilajit buyer who wants reliable resupply.

    Advantage Card points and the price-per-day gap

    The Boots offering does come with Advantage Card points (£1 spent equals one point at standard rates) and periodic wellness discount codes that lift 15% off. On a WeightWorld 180-capsule pack the effective price per day drops into a range that competes with a specialist complex on capsule count alone, but not on the underlying formulation depth or fulvic acid transparency.

    The Four Label Numbers That Actually Matter

    When you compare shilajit products across retailers, four numbers do the work: mg per serving, pack size (in servings), fulvic acid percentage, and price per day. Read those four and you have a defensible comparison across every SKU on the market.

    Milligrams per serving matters because shilajit's clinical evidence base has been tested at daily doses roughly in the 250mg to 500mg range for standardised extracts (Pandit et al., 2016, DOI 10.1111/and.12482). Pack size matters because resin jars in the 25g to 30g bracket run out inside a couple of months at typical dosing.

    Fulvic acid percentage matters because the fulvic acid fraction is where most of the bioactivity sits (Wilson et al., 2011, DOI 10.1155/2013/674142). Price per day is the number that actually matters to a buyer's budget.

    Product Format Fulvic acid % Servings per pack Price per day
    Supplements Wise Shilajit Complex Capsule (with adaptogens) 60% (label-stated, standardised) 45 servings (2 caps/day) £0.38
    Holland & Barrett Shilajit 1000mg Capsule (single ingredient) Not stated on label 90 servings (1 cap/day) £0.36 full price; £0.18 on promo
    H&B Himalayan Shilajit Resin 30g Resin 75% (label-stated) ~60 servings at pea-sized dose £0.55 to £0.85
    Boots WeightWorld 180 capsule Capsule (single ingredient) Not stated on label 90 servings (2 caps/day) £0.30 to £0.40
    Boots WeightWorld Resin 50g Resin Not consistently stated ~100 servings £0.30 to £0.60
    Boots New Leaf Complex 120 capsules Capsule (with adaptogens) Not stated on label 60 servings (2 caps/day) £0.50 to £0.75

    Two patterns fall out of the table. First, chemist capsule SKUs at full price are broadly on par with a specialist complex on pure pack cost, but they carry a single ingredient rather than a multi-adaptogen stack. Second, the fulvic acid percentage column is largely blank across the chemist shelves, which is the number a buyer should be reading first.

    Fulvic Acid Percentage: The Hidden Number

    Fulvic acid is the biochemical fraction inside shilajit that carries most of the interesting activity. When a preparation is described as "shilajit extract standardised to X% fulvic acid," that X figure is doing the same job that "% curcuminoids" does on a turmeric label or "% withanolides" does on ashwagandha, it tells you how much active compound is in each serving.

    The clinical trials that generated shilajit's evidence base almost all use standardised, purified extracts with a stated fulvic acid percentage. Pandit and colleagues, in a 90-day double-blind trial of purified shilajit at 500mg per day in healthy men aged 45 to 55, reported significant increases in total testosterone against placebo (Pandit et al., 2016, DOI 10.1111/and.12482).

    Keller and colleagues followed with a randomised trial showing 8-week supplementation increased muscle strength and reduced hydroxyproline turnover in older adults (Keller et al., 2019, DOI 10.1186/s12970-019-0288-5). Both trials used standardised preparations with a disclosed fulvic acid percentage.

    What the Research Says

    Fulvic acid was identified as the primary bioactive component of purified shilajit in analytical work by Wilson and colleagues, who established the chemistry of fulvic and humic acid fractions in shilajit preparations sold across the supplement channel (Wilson et al., 2011, DOI 10.1155/2013/674142). Products that do not disclose fulvic acid percentage cannot be compared like-for-like against the trial doses.

    An own-brand chemist capsule sold at "1000mg shilajit" tells you the weight of the input material but not how concentrated the active fraction is. A standardised extract at 60% fulvic acid, dosed at 200mg per serving, is roughly equivalent in active fraction to a raw-material dose several times higher, which is why the standardised extract number is more informative than the raw milligram number. Our own shilajit dosage guide walks through the standardised dosing logic in detail.

    Resin vs Capsules, Honestly

    The shilajit category divides cleanly into two formats: resin (a sticky black semi-solid sold in a small jar, scooped and dissolved in warm water) and capsules (either a raw-powder fill or a standardised extract). Both formats have arguments on their side and both have honest drawbacks.

    Resin has a purity story that capsules cannot match on marketing terms. A well-sourced resin, correctly purified, retains fulvic acid and dibenzo-alpha-pyrone (DBP) content in a form close to the raw exudate.

    High-quality resin brands publish independent laboratory certificates of analysis, and the format's texture and taste are unmistakable enough that outright adulteration is easier for the reader to spot. That is the case Holland & Barrett's 75%-fulvic-acid Himalayan resin leans on, and it is a legitimate case.

    Resin also has three practical problems. Dosing accuracy is poor, the recommendation "a pea-sized portion" is not a defensible dose in a clinical sense. Handling is unpleasant, the resin sticks to teaspoons, jars are hard to close cleanly, and the smell is polarising.

    Storage varies too, a jar of resin left half-empty for months can attract moisture and lose potency, whereas a sealed capsule blister does not. If a reader is unlikely to sustain a resin routine for 60 to 90 days, the format's purity advantage does not translate into biological effect.

    Capsules have the opposite trade-off. A capsule delivers a consistent, measurable dose in a form most people can sustain daily. When the capsule is a standardised extract with a stated fulvic acid percentage, the dose is comparable to a resin serving on active-fraction grounds while sidestepping the resin's format friction.

    Our best shilajit UK guide walks through the two-format comparison in more depth, and our pure shilajit resin vs capsules explainer covers the purity claims specifically.

    Price Per Day, Compared Honestly

    The annualised cost is the number that gets underweighted in one-off purchase decisions. A supplement you take daily lives in the shopping basket for months, so what matters is not the sticker price of one bottle but the cost of maintaining the dose for a year. Multiply the per-day figure by 365 and the true price emerges.

    For our own Shilajit Complex, at £0.38 per day, a full year of daily use lands at £138. For a Holland & Barrett 1000mg capsule at full price (£0.36 per day), a full year lands at around £130, but the pack contains shilajit alone, with no stated fulvic acid percentage and no adaptogenic stack.

    For a Boots New Leaf Complex, a year lands closer to £220. For a chemist resin at £0.55 to £0.85 per day, a year lands between £200 and £310.

    The reason this matters for a UK reader is that shilajit does not deliver its full effect on a fortnight's dosing. The Pandit and Keller trials both used 8-to-12-week dosing windows, and the honest evidence base suggests month three is where the more consistent readouts arrive. If you commit to a proper trial, the price per day is the real number to plan around.

    Worth Knowing

    Chemist promotional cycles matter more for shilajit than for most other supplements, because the own-brand SKUs are the ones that move on promo. A Holland & Barrett capsule pack at 50% off is a genuinely competitive shelf price for a stretch, but neither the discount nor the Advantage Card points close the gap on fulvic acid percentage transparency, and a promotional pack cannot be relied on for month-three continuation.

    Shilajit is legal to sell as a food supplement in the UK. The Food Standards Agency (FSA) has not classed it as a novel food requiring pre-market authorisation, and the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) has not scheduled it as a medicine. It sits on shelves as a supplement, and both Holland & Barrett and Boots stock it under exactly that classification.

    What this means practically is that any UK supplier, chemist chain or online specialist, is free to sell shilajit provided it meets standard food supplement composition and labelling requirements. The choice of retailer is a commercial choice, not a legal one. The regulatory gap that is worth being aware of is that fulvic acid percentage is not a mandatory disclosure under UK food supplement labelling law, which is why chemist SKUs vary in whether they state it.

    Independent purity testing (heavy metal screening in particular) is where the UK shilajit market genuinely differentiates itself. Shilajit is a mineral-rich exudate collected from high-altitude rock strata, and unpurified material can carry lead, arsenic, cadmium and mercury above supplement-safe limits.

    Brands that publish an independent laboratory certificate, Eurofins, ALS, or equivalent, clear that hurdle explicitly. Chemist shelves do not consistently expose those certificates from the product page.

    A Three-Line Buying Checklist

    Whether you shop at Holland & Barrett, Boots, or a dedicated UK shilajit specialist, three checks matter more than the retailer's name on the label. Apply these to every shilajit product you consider and you will avoid the two most common buyer mistakes.

    Check fulvic acid percentage first. If the label does not state it, treat the pack as raw-material shilajit and adjust your dose expectations accordingly. A standardised extract at 60% fulvic acid dosed at 200mg per serving is roughly comparable in active fraction to a raw-material dose several times higher.

    Check the format against your realistic routine next. Resin has the marketing story but the format friction to match. Capsules are the format most readers actually sustain for a 90-day trial, so buy the format you will still be dosing at week 10, not the one that reads well on unboxing.

    Multiply pack cost by daily doses to get price per day, then annualise. A 30-capsule chemist pack is not the equivalent of a 90-capsule specialist pack even when the shelf price matches, and a resin jar that lasts six weeks is a different maintenance cost from a capsule bottle that lasts three months. The unit price on the shelf is not the price you actually pay for a year of use.

    Ready to buy a UK-made, GMP-certified shilajit complex?

    Shilajit standardised to 60% fulvic acid, stacked with KSM-66 Ashwagandha, Rhodiola, and micronutrients. £0.38 per day at the recommended two-per-day serving.

    Shop Shilajit Complex

    Key Takeaway

    If you value in-store pick-up and are willing to trade fulvic acid transparency for chemist convenience, Holland & Barrett and Boots both list credible shilajit options. If you value fulvic acid percentage disclosure and an adaptogenic complex at £0.38 per day, a UK specialist is the honest better value, and it is the format most readers actually sustain for a full 90-day trial.

    FAQs

    Does Holland & Barrett actually sell shilajit in stores or only online?

    Holland & Barrett lists shilajit on hollandandbarrett.com and stocks the range through a rotating subset of physical stores. Reviewers report the own-brand 90-capsule bottle as intermittently "temporarily unavailable" through 2026, especially outside promotional windows, and the Himalayan resin as a rarer in-store find. If you need reliable weekly supply, plan around online orders from a specialist rather than a store visit.

    How much does shilajit cost at Boots?

    Boots's shilajit range spans roughly £15 to £60 depending on format and brand. The WeightWorld 180-capsule pack sits at the entry end, the Osavi and WeightWorld resins in the mid range, and the New Leaf Complex and Wellthy own-brand capsules towards the top. Advantage Card points and periodic 15% wellness codes reduce the effective cost slightly but do not close the gap to a UK specialist complex at £0.38 per day.

    What fulvic acid percentage should I look for?

    A standardised shilajit extract in the 50 to 75% fulvic acid range covers the clinical trial evidence base. The Pandit 2016 testosterone trial and the Keller 2019 muscle-preservation trial both used purified extracts with stated percentages in that window. A product that does not disclose fulvic acid percentage at all should be treated as a raw-material shilajit, not directly comparable to the trial doses on an active-fraction basis.

    Is shilajit resin better than capsules?

    Resin has a legitimate purity story, particularly when a brand publishes an independent laboratory certificate of analysis. It has three practical problems: dosing accuracy (a "pea-sized portion" is not a defensible clinical dose), handling (sticky, strong-tasting), and storage (opened jars can lose potency over months). Most UK readers who commit to a 90-day trial find capsules easier to sustain, and a standardised-extract capsule delivers a measurable active-fraction dose that resin's pea-sized recommendation cannot.

    Is shilajit safe to buy from a chemist shelf without a lab certificate?

    Chemist-shelf shilajit is required to meet UK food supplement composition and labelling standards, but the heavy-metal screening picture is not fully covered by that baseline. Shilajit is a mineral-rich exudate that can carry lead, arsenic, cadmium and mercury above supplement-safe limits when unpurified. Brands that publish an independent laboratory certificate, Eurofins, ALS, or equivalent, clear that hurdle explicitly; chemist shelves do not consistently expose those certificates from the product page, so ask the retailer or buy from a specialist that publishes the certificate up front.

    Should I take 250mg, 500mg or 1000mg of shilajit daily?

    The clinical evidence base sits in a 200mg to 500mg per day window for standardised extracts. Pandit and colleagues used 250mg twice daily (500mg total) in their 90-day testosterone trial in healthy men aged 45 to 55; Keller and colleagues used 500mg per day for 8 weeks in their muscle-preservation study. Raw-material shilajit dosed higher (the 1000mg number that appears on chemist labels) refers to input weight, not active-fraction dose, and is not directly comparable to the trial figures, so see our shilajit dosage guide for the full breakdown.

    Is shilajit legal to buy in the UK in 2026?

    Yes, shilajit is legal to sell as a food supplement in the UK. The Food Standards Agency has not classed it as a novel food and the MHRA has not scheduled it as a medicine. Both Holland & Barrett and Boots stock it openly and dedicated UK shilajit specialists ship it nationwide; fulvic acid percentage disclosure is not a mandatory label requirement, which is why chemist SKUs vary in whether they state it.

    This article is for information only and is not medical advice. Food supplements should not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. Speak to your GP or pharmacist before starting any new supplement, especially if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or managing a health condition.


    More from > adaptogens Boots buyer's guide fulvic acid Holland and Barrett shilajit UK supplements